Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence

The shortlisted nominees for the 2019 Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence, sponsored by BMW, have been announced today. The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony to be held on 18 November at the Millennium Chelsea Harbour Hotel, London.

The independent judging panel met and considered all entries made across the eleven categories. After lengthy deliberation and discussion, the panel was pleased to shortlist the following (shown in no particular order):
Outstanding Young Person Award:
Sponsor: TBC
 Harry Smyth, Air Ambulance of Northern Ireland
 Eliza & Leo McQueen
 Chauncy School, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
 Maisie Sheridan, Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance
Charity Staff Member of the Year:
Sponsor: TBC
 Lynne Harris, Air Ambulance Kent Surrey Sussex
 Khin Latt, Great Western Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year:
Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division
 Chris Neil, East Anglian Air Ambulance
 Sally Boor, Magpas Air Ambulance
 Vicki Brown, Great Western Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year:
Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters
 Matt O’Meara, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
 Scott Grier, Great Western Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year:
Sponsor: Safran UK
 To be announced on 18 November
Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year:
Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services
 Air Ambulance of Northern Ireland – Ulster Farmers Union
 East Anglian Air Ambulance – Mission 24/7
 Great Western Air Ambulance – Buy Our Base
 Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance – Haynes Manual
Charity Volunteer of the Year:
Sponsor: Tower Lotteries
 Andrew Pearce, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance
 Teresa James, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
 Iain McIntosh, Magpas Air Ambulance
Special Incident Award:
Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters
 Cornwall Air Ambulance – Cliff fall
 Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance – Cliff fall
 East Anglian Air Ambulance – Rotavator
Robert Courts MP, Chair of the Judging Panel, commented:
“The award nominations were of an exceptionally high standard and my fellow judges and I were left with extremely difficult decisions to make. I’m delighted to have been involved in this important opportunity to recognise the sector’s commitment and expertise, which is on display every single day across the UK.”
Further details about the awards, including how to book a place at the Gala Dinner, can be found at: