Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence Shortlist Announced!

The shortlisted nominees for the 2018 Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence, sponsored by BMW, have been announced today. The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony to be held on 12 November at the Millennium Chelsea Harbour Hotel, London.

The independent judging panel met and considered all entries made across the eleven categories. After lengthy deliberation and discussion, the panel was pleased to shortlist the following (shown in no particular order):
Outstanding Young Person Award:
Sponsor: Babcock MCS Onshore
 Winner to be announced on 12 November
Charity Staff Member of the Year:
Sponsor: Bayards Heliport Solutions
 Gemma Kidd, Cornwall Air Ambulance
 Jen Easton, East Anglian Air Ambulance
 Natalie Church, MAGPAS Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year:
Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division
 Glenn O’Rorke, Air Ambulance Northern Ireland
 Jeremy Griffiths, Cornwall Air Ambulance
 Mark Williams, Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year:
Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters
 Dave Ashton Cleary, Cornwall Air Ambulance
 Paddy Morgan, Great Western Air Ambulance
 Ami Jones, Wales Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year:
Sponsor: Safran UK
 Dave Kelly, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
 John Taylor, North West Air Ambulance
 Gavin Rowley, Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year:
Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services
 Essex & Herts Air Ambulance – Keep in Touch
 Wiltshire Air Ambulance – Airbase Appeal
Charity Volunteer of the Year:
Sponsor: Tower Lotteries
 Colin Smith, Wiltshire Air Ambulance
 Ally Bally, Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance
 Gill Andrew, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance
Special Incident Award:
Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters
 Cornwall Air Ambulance – Tin Mine
 Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance – Float
 East Anglian Air Ambulance – Child Cardiac Arrest
 Midlands Air Ambulance – Traumatic Cardiac Arrest
Lifetime Achievement Award:
Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services
 Winner to be announced on 12 November.
Innovation of the Year:
Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters
 The McQueen Charter – East Anglian Air Ambulance, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance, MAGPAS Air Ambulance & East of England Ambulance Service
 Student Resilience – Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
 ECMO – North West Air Ambulance
Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Chair of the Judging Panel, commented:
“My fellow judges and I were privileged to read about the very best of the outstanding organisations, teams and individuals that make up our air ambulance services. These Awards give a real insight into the extraordinary work these people do every single day of the year. I believe it is important that we acknowledge this work during these annual Awards, which represent a rare opportunity for us all to recognise their commitment and expertise and simply to say thank you.”
Further details about the awards, including how to book a place at the Gala Dinner, can be found at: