AAA Charity RepresentativesTH

The Association of Air Ambulances is today calling on all of the air ambulance community to nominate an individual or team for this year¡¦s Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence. These prestigious, independent awards honour the exceptional contributions of staff and volunteers in the UK air ambulance community.

The organisers are particularly calling on those organisations who may not have entered before to put in an entry this year. Chloe Smith MP, Chair of Judges, said:
“The number of entries into the Awards is increasing year on year but we’d like to hear even more great stories from across the pre-hospital care community and especially those areas that may not have been well represented in the past. This might include ambulance service staff or HEMS desk staff who, among others, play vital roles in air ambulance operations.
“We have deliberately made the Awards both straightforward and free to enter in order to encourage all organisations to nominate their star individuals or teams.”
The Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence are now in their fourth year and have quickly become a prestigious event for the pre-hospital care sector. Last year saw over 275 people watch BBC News’s Sophie Long and Helicopter Heroes presenter Rav Wilding hand over 11 Awards to some outstanding individuals and teams.
Nominations are now open so the entire sector¡¦s most inspirational people get the recognition they deserve. The Awards are judged by an independent panel of experts and presented at a gala dinner in London on 14 November. Recipients last year included pilots, paramedics, doctors, fundraisers and volunteers.
National Director of the Association of Air Ambulances, Clive Dickin, said:
¡§Last year¡¦s ceremony was a wonderful occasion where everyday heroes were recognised, and these awards will once again reflect the incredible dedication to duty of all those involved in the air ambulance sector.¡¨
Nominations are now sought in the following categories:
„h Outstanding Young Person Award
„h Charity Staff Member of the Year
„h Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year
„h Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year
„h Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year
„h Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year
„h Charity Volunteer of the Year
„h Special Incident Award
„h Lifetime Achievement Award
„h Innovation Award
The closing date for nominations is 1 September 2016. The winners will be announced at the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence gala dinner to be held on 14 November.
Further details of award categories, together with a nomination form can be found at:

Leave a Reply